SPD-SL pedals

redddraggon
redddraggon Posts: 10,862
edited July 2007 in Road beginners
I'm new to road cycling, well cycling in general. My bike came with these dodgy straps, which I couldn't get my feet into, so I changed them to MTB pedals, but now I feel that I'm at the stage to go for clipless pedals.

I want to get some of the Shimano SPD-SL. But do the pedals come with the cleats? I've looked at the sites stocking them and on the shimano site but nowhere says decisively whether or not they are included. I've spoken to a couple of people and they reckon they are included.

Can anyone back this up?
I like bikes...

Twitter
Flickr

Comments

• tonyw43
    tonyw43 Posts: 249
    Shimano SPD-SL pedals do generally come with cleats, being the ones that allow a few degrees of float (sideways movement of the foot on the pedal). Personally I prefer the fixed cleats, which allow no movement, but this is purely a personal thing. Try the float cleats that come with the pedals first and see how you get on.
  • McBain_v1
    McBain_v1 Posts: 5,237
    Recently bought some Dura-Ace pedals and they came with the standard "yellow" cleats that allow about 7° of float. The "red" flavour don't allow any float, but I haven't tried them. Personally I'd go with some float just in case your knees need it :wink:

What do I ride? Now that's an Enigma!
  • Stark.
    Stark. Posts: 108
    Yes, Shimano SPD-SL pedals come with cleats included. And yes, I'd go for the ones that offer a bit of float.
  • redddraggon
    Which should I get the R540 (for about £26 off ebay)

Or spend a bit more and get either the 5600s or the 6200s?

As they should last me a good few bikes and years, is it worth spending the little extra on the more expensive pedals?
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Eat My Dust
    Eat My Dust Posts: 3,965
    I use R540's on both of my road bikes and have never had a problem with them. Isn't the only difference weight, with the more expensive models?