To Club or not ?

andy h 1
andy h 1 Posts: 51
edited July 2007 in Road beginners
Hi all, i am relatively new to cycling again!!! and was wondering what the best way to develop my cycling fairly quickly would be? when i say develop i mean riding techniques ,advice, support ,routes etc etc would a club be best, or a friend or 2 or on my own? the club idea does appeal as it is a CTC section which i feel would be best for me initially, all comments would be very welcome, thanks.
A Holmes

Comments

• McBain_v1
    McBain_v1 Posts: 5,237
    Go with a club unless you think that you won't be able to stand the pace. I know that when I joined VC Halton I was a little alarmed that the average speed on a ride from Widnes to Mold was about 22mph. Still, once you get caught up in the bunch you soon forget the pain messages from your legs. Clubs are a great place to pick up free advice and hard-won lessons about riding and bike maintenance etc.

What do I ride? Now that's an Enigma!
  • Stwutter
    Stwutter Posts: 362
    I agree with the above, but try a few out for size, as cycling clubs can vary from the very friendly to the utterly obnoxious. It's best to aim for one that offers a range of rides, so you can join faster groups as you progress. If you go out with the nutters at first, it can be very off-putting.

E-mail and call a few - you can tell a lot simply by their response. I e-mailed one club recently that's near me, and you'd think I was trying to join the bloody freemasons.

Some are nice too! :lol:
    Knackered? Me?
  • jibi
    jibi Posts: 857
    I am sure a good club would let you have a couple of rides with them before you were asked to join.

Find out where they meet and go along for a ride to find out about them.

what area do you live in Andy ?

someone here may be able to suggest a club.

george
  • andy h 1
    andy h 1 Posts: 51