L'ETAPE DU TOUR 2007. How was it for you?

2»

Comments

• popette
    popette Posts: 2,089
    RichA wrote:
    popette,

I decided to do it this time last year.

Places can generally be reserved from Septemeber. UK entrants are generally required to go through a tour operator. See here for a list of tour operators.

The route of the Tour is announced in mid October and the Etape is announced at the same time. (i.e. you may end up booking yourt spot before you know the route - it ususally alternates so expect it to be in the Alps next year)

I was a total novice, unfit and overweight. I didn't buy my bike until October. Got out on the bike a little from October-Christmas. Then the real training started in January and continued building until July when you can taper !!! It takes motivation and hard work but is very achieveable.

Do it next year. You won't regret it.

Thanks for the info re route announcements. The 2009 date coincides with husbands 40th birthday so I think we'll have to stick to then for our first etape. We have four very young children so not easy to go out for an evening, nevermind a week in the mountains.

I'm also a total novice - 5 months cycling now. Getting fitter but still got weight to lose. I'm watching the route on sky right now and even these guys seem to be struggling up the mountain they're on at the moment. What an acheivement to get to the finish.

will check out your blog later on
    popette
  • I agree. I got waggoned in the heat on the alpe last year. It is a real achievement to finish, but needs a good year's preparation, including a foreign tour on hills that length. It is just a different style of cycling to get used to. Keep going and you'll finish next year no problem. Getting as far as you did was a great effort in your first year. Courage!
    Dan
  • TomF
    TomF Posts: 494
    TomF - sorry to hear you had to pack but I'm heartened to hear that you want to try again. I wish a lot of luck for next year.