hi all

10/2
10/2 Posts: 16
edited July 2007 in Road beginners
hi all! thught id say hi and pose a question....im new to cycling and have just bought a budget road bike for starters. the problem is the gear levers are on the down bar which is proving to be a pain in the backside! :cry: is it possible to relocate them if i get integral brake/gear levers? can someone tell me what equipment i would need and recommend which parts and where to get them? if i took it to the shop how much would it be roughly? many thanks in advance :D

Comments

• spasypaddy
    spasypaddy Posts: 5,180
    i had this problem when i was looking at a roadbike a few years ago and i remember the shop saying that yes they can be moved. I've now found out what the benefit of having them on the downtube is - have a head on crash and they wont need replacing, have a head on crash (like i did) and its at least another £80 to replace!

have a look on ebay for some shifters, depending on the make Shimano or Compagnalo search for shifters under that brand name and see what happens. Then take them to a shop and ask them to fit them.

It may not actually be possible so wait for someone elses advice before buying as i don't know which exact ones to recommend or prices
  • 10/2
    thanks mate, forgot to ask.....do shimano do a 12 gear shifter?
  • 10/2
    thanks mate, forgot to ask.....do shimano do a 12 gear shifter?
  • on2wheels
    on2wheels Posts: 102
    Shimano go up to 10 speed as do Campag, it depends on what groupset you have, I think from memory that Shimano 105 and up is 10 speed, below 105 is 9 speed, I don't think there are any 12 speed shifters, I could be wrong, ergo shifters are very expensive, I have the same problem, I'm living with it at the moment until I buy a new bike
  • rafletcher
    rafletcher Posts: 1,235