Anyone race XC?

Satchmo245
Satchmo245 Posts: 707
edited July 2007 in XC and Enduro
I posted this in the old forum so thought I might as well try here now.

I want to do it (race) but not sure where to start. I am still a noob and I'm sure I will come last to begin with but I just like the thought of competing, plus, it's an incentive to get fitter/faster/ballsier (you know what I mean) and well to better my technical skills. Also, I am currently building an XC machine and could do with a few pointers.

What sort of terrain are XC races usually held on? Would it get more gnarly than say a rocky bridlepath? Do they usually have drop offs? How high?? The reason I ask is that I am getting some SID's for my build and I'm not sure what they can take (or the frame for that matter). I have heard the SID's can be flexy and the frame (KHS Alite Team) is lightwight Alu!

Also, I have read that XC bikes should have flat bars (for a lower riding position I presume). Is this correct? If so, are there any other components that would be better on a XC bike that I may have overlooked?

If anyone could help or point me in the direction of some resource on the web then I would be very grateful. From what I have seen on the web the general consensus is that any hardtail is an XC bike....

So....do any of you race? Or have you raced before? Got any stories or advice on getting started?

Cheers :D

Comments

• trengot
    trengot Posts: 133
    I raced for the first time this year for pretty much the same reasons as you.

I entered the Gorrick Spring Series. At the end of last summer i was relatvely fit and could ride quite well. Come february (the first race) i thought i was just as fit. My first mistake. I had not ridden for about four months.

In that first race i came 15th out of 16 (ahead of a DNF). I tried the next race (in a different class) and came 79th out of 111.

Even though i didn't do well it was great fun and next year i am hopefully doing it again.