look pedals - double sided - does this exist?

mushi123
mushi123 Posts: 20
edited June 2007 in Workshop
Hi;

I am pretty new to this cycling thing (I commute everyday 20 miles round trip in London). I bought some shoes and pedals, the road type ones not MTB. The problem is that on the commute when I put my foot down I find it hard to clip on again because you have to clip on at the right side, are all pedals like this? isn't there a road pedal that have the clip thing on both sides. Am I being stupid?

If not can you please tell me how you guys clip on without looking at your feet

sorry for the dumb question

Comments

• pbiggs
    pbiggs Posts: 9,232
    Well, you can look at your feet if you like. Maybe that's why they're called "Look"? [:)]

Seriously, you get used to it after some practice. Look road pedals are heavier at the back, so they always point the same way up when foot is not on.

Have one foot clipped in before you start, and give a hard push on this pedal to get you moving fast enough to freewheel while dealing with the other side.

Scoop foot forwards. Don't put full weight on before it's clipped in, in case you get it wrong and slip off.

There are double-sided road pedals from other makes such as Speedplay - but they are quite different and also more expensive. Also, no reason why you can't use double-sided SPD pedals & shoes with a road bike if you like.

<i>~Pete</i>
    <i>~Pete</i>
  • gundersen
    gundersen Posts: 586
    Yes Look did make double sided pedals. But that was a while back.

About the ones you've got. Practise makes perfect. Shortly you'ld be doing it without thinking.
  • monty_dogcp
    monty_dogcp Posts: 382