Innertubes not holding pressure

hamlets
hamlets Posts: 13
edited June 2007 in Workshop
Hi I am pretty new to road cycling but enjoying getting the miles in. I seem to be having a problem whereby instead of actually getting a puncture my tyre seems to half deflate. I went out tonight and had a drop in pressure managed to get some back in with a hand pump but it went down again in a few miles. When I got home I used a track pump to get up to 110psi. 1 hour later the tyre is half deflated again. I am using specialized inner tubes. I usually just replace the tube rather than have let me down on a ride but I just wondered if I am doing something wrong.

We are all prisoners of our own experiences
We are all prisoners of our own experiences including elephants.

Comments

• Rob Sallnow
    Rob Sallnow Posts: 6,279
    You've either got a slow puncture, latex innertubes (though they don't go down in an hour, more like a couple of days), a leaky valve....or a fiendish air thief is syphoning off your tyre's air to sell on eBay at an inflated price!!

I'd rather walk than use Shimano.

A pulse, the whole world has a pulse...and now so does a baby elephant.
    I'd rather walk than use Shimano
  • Inflate and immerse! Sounds like the valve is leaking: holes usually take it all the way DOWN!

d.j.
    "Not much to see,
    Not much left to lose"
  • hamlets
    Thanks I suspected valve problems should I be buying better quality tubes? Thanks also Rob according to Tony or is it Gordon now we don't have inflation any more things just go up in price instead!

• Rob Sallnow
    Rob Sallnow Posts: 6,279
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by hamlets</i>

Thanks I suspected valve problems should I be buying better quality tubes? Thanks also Rob according to Tony or is it Gordon now we don't have inflation any more things just go up in price instead!