Sportives

I'm relatively new to the sportive scene but am amazed at the number of people on the rides that i have been on have either:

1) sat on and not done any work (in some cases for 30-40 miles)( actually that was me last sunday at highclere Sorry hevipedal!)
2) stopped in the middle of the road with no warning
3) started at a stupid pace only to fall off the pace after 20 miles or so
4) got off to walk on the first major climb
5) yo-yoing up and down the road all the time rather than concentrating on maintaining a constant pace.

how does one educate politely?

Jocksyboy

Comments

• Pirahna
    Pirahna Posts: 1,315
    A lot of the people I see on sportivs are solo riders and have no idea about riding in a group. If you want somebody else to do some work just move over and ask them to come through.

We all know groups ride faster, some people will not have travelled at group speeds before and will tag on to see what happens.

Some people will be their at limit already and won't be able to add anything. You'll see them drop off after a few miles.

Some people know exactly what they're doing but are just bone idle.
  • big_phil
    big_phil Posts: 18
    This is my biggest concern when riding sportives - the lack of experience about things like group riding, sharing work on the front etc. I am riding the Dragon in a couple of weeks and they are starting riders in groups of about 100. Should make for some interesting riding for first few miles ....
  • I only ride a few sportives in the UK each year but I'm always surprised at the lack of group riding. In Europe you can always pick up a decent group where most people collaborate to share the work.

Here it rarely happens. At the Highclere Castle sportive I passed four of five riders on the long stretch after the climb from the stop at Steep. They all tagged on to me but only one of them would work, the rest just sat on and wouldn't come through when encouraged.
  • Blonde
    Blonde Posts: 3,188