Beginners Hybrid - Trek vs Specialized

dangeoffrey
dangeoffrey Posts: 2
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
I'm looking to buy a bike to commute to work on (about 8 miles each way). Mainly to get the exercise and to avoid using the car at least a couple of days a week.

Checked out a couple of local bike shops and it looks like it's going to come down to a Trek 7.2FX or a Specialized Globe Sport (my budget is œ300)

I'm a cycling beginner so does anyone have any views/experience of either?

Any help appreciated.

Comments

• DLB
    DLB Posts: 631
    no idea about the spec., but i have a trek 7.1fx 2006 model and think it's brilliant. Well made and a pleasure to ride. In fact it inspired me to buy a road bike after only 3 months so i could try other forms of riding. But i still love the Trek.

*** Whether you think you can or think you can't, you're probably right ***
    *** Whether you think you can or think you can\'t, you\'re probably right ***
  • gbb
    gbb Posts: 1,240
    I have the 7.1FX as well...probably a 2004 model. Frames and components have been good, but i think the wheels dont take much abuse...had to replace mine.
    If you respect the bike, i'm sure it would be fine...just dont kerb hop like my son did on mine.

Chill out, fer Christsakes....

Chill out, fer Christsakes....
  • soltydog
    soltydog Posts: 47
    I have the globe sport & love it. Had it just over 2 months & done about 500 miles with no probs. Depending where you are riding it the tyres may be a little on the wide size. I tend to use it on the Hornsea end of the trans pennine trail for my 16 mile commute & it's fine on the rougher parts of the track, but narrower tyres may be more suited if you are doing mainly road work.
    I couldn't get anything knocked off the price at my LBS but got him to throw in mudguards & a rack, so maybe worth trying for a few freebies too [;)]
  • RufusA
    RufusA Posts: 500