Advice for my first sportive needed

RyanBrook
RyanBrook Posts: 195
edited June 2007 in Pro race
I'm riding the London to Cantebury Sportive in three weeks. My preparation so far hasnt been up to scratch. Before this weekend I hadnt rode in two weeks. And before that I was only doing Saturday and Sunday rides of 40-50 miles plus a session on the bike in the gym.

I did 60 miles over the weekend and a gym ride yesterday. I was thinking of doing 2 rides in the week followed by two long rides at the weekend for the next fortnight and then the rest week before just do two rides. How does this sound?

I did a cycling tour in France in 2005 of nearly 1000 miles so Im not a complete newbie but this will be the first time Ive ever done 120 miles. The furthest I have ever been is 80miles.

How does my plan sound? Also does anyone know the best way of glycogen loading before the event?

Comments

• Given the time you have left remaining then your plan sounds sensible.

There is no great secret to riding a long distance - you need to be well fed and rested before you start and then eat and drink little and often once you get going. The hard bit comes when you try and go faster than you are able!
  • Most important 3 things to remember:

- don't be tempted to ride too fast at the start just to stay with a fast group - if you feel like you are outside your comfort zone, sit up and wait for another group whose pace is more suited to you. If you have anything left in the tank towards the end, you can always up the tempo then (and hopefully pass some of those who flew past you at the start with a smug grin on your face)
    - as Andyp says, eat and drink regularly during the ride - small sips of water and nibbles of food regularly is better than downing a whole Powerbar in one hit at a feed zone for instance
    - Kent is not flat [:D]