Newbie here with a few questions.

AINSLEY WILLS
AINSLEY WILLS Posts: 20
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
Hi everyone,
I just discovered this great froum and have spent all night reading the many informative posts ....... great stuff.

It's a while since I've been on a bike but I'm planning on buying one over the next two weeks.

I have decided a Hybrid will be most suited for me needs as I'll be cycling mainly on roads and the odd dirt track or ravel cycle path, I won't be doing any mountain bike rides.

So many bikes to choose from and everything I seem to read suggests spending at least œ250 for a decent beginners bike.
Online I've looked at the Carrera Subway and the Marin Kentfield and Beldevere, are these OK and worth looking at ? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

My biggest worry is bike security.
I live in a tiny flat which is mainly filled with guitars and amps .... hahaha ........ and I have no room whatsoever for a bike. I don't have a garden as such, just a strip of gravel about four feet wide which runs around the exterior. I do have metal railing which run around this area too.
I was thinking if I got a couple of decent locks I could secure the bike to the railing and maybe get some of those anchor points to cement into the ground ? Then with a bike cover over it may be ok ? I live in quite a quiet cul de sac so I don't think opportunists would be able to cut the locks or the railings ?

Again any advice or tips would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks ...

Ainsley

Comments

• pbiggs
    pbiggs Posts: 9,232
    Bag-type bike covers are worse than useless in the long run as they keep moist air and condensation trapped with the bike.

Better just to leave it out in the open for good ventilation. Rain won't do it much harm if the bike is regularly cleaned and lubricated.

Of course keeping the bike indoors would be best of all. Cyclists with small flats have been known to hang bikes up from the ceiling.

<i>~Pete</i>
    <i>~Pete</i>
  • BigBren