What does the bonk feel like?

Mister Paul
Mister Paul Posts: 719
edited June 2007 in Workshop
I did 60 miles yesterday. I'd got to 50 this afternoon, and suddenly started to feel sick and felt like I was going to go dizzy and faint. My legs were fine, but I had to walk for 10 minutes before I felt able to get going again, and then still felt pretty rough.

Was it likely to be the heat, tiredness, or had I eaten too much 30 minutes before and not left it long enough before getting back on the bike?

Comments

• Thats the bonk [:D]

I use PSP22, which works fine for me. Its about keeping energy levels right ime

Mleh Mleh Mleh
  • The Bosscp
    The Bosscp Posts: 647
    I'm no fitness expert but could be a combination of all three. It was damn hot today, and digestion takes energy, also consider that different foods might take different amounts of energy to digest, and be digested at different rates?
    Dehydration? Your body needs more water if it's losing more due to the heat, yet you might not get any more thirsty. I'd be interested to know if you build up a 'tolerance' to thirst? I went for a ride yesterday and just got one bottle of blue powerade, got a bit thirsty at the top of the moors but neither of us had any water left and the thirst seemed to subside till we got back down to town (was all downhill from there though [;)] ) In other words don't always trust your thirst, you might still need water if you're not thirsty.

<hr noshade size="1">
    CyclingIsPermittedAlongThisFootpathGenericPath
  • Eurostar
    Eurostar Posts: 1,806
    Dizzy, sick and weak = bonk. Maybe you ate something slow to digest? There's lots of info about nutrition at ultracycling.com. Some of the 'rules' are quite surprising, e.g. refined, white bread makes better fuel than brown wholemeal bread because it's quick and easy to digest. Maybe your blood sugar level dipped?
    <hr>
    <h6>What\'s the point of going out? We\'re just going to end up back here anyway</h6>
  • freddered