What is a respectable time for a 10 mile TT?

Adeyman
Adeyman Posts: 9
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
I've never done any competitve cycling before but wondered about having a go at a 10 mile TT.

What is a respectable time that won't have the marshalls rolling about laughing?

Comments

• paul.dee
    paul.dee Posts: 156
    Just having the balls to ride it is enough, no one will laugh you will find people very supportive. The way to get better a TT is to ride them.
  • Garybee
    Garybee Posts: 815
    As above, just go down and ride it. You'll go a couple of minutes faster than if you did it on your own anyway so trying to get a certain time before you go along isn't really representative of what you're capable of.

Hypocrisy is only a bad thing in other people.

Hypocrisy is only a bad thing in other people.
  • Cunobelin
    Cunobelin Posts: 11,792
    20 seconds faster that your own Personal Best!

<b><i>He that buys land buys many stones.
    He that buys flesh buys many bones.
    He that buys eggs buys many shells,
    But he that buys good beer buys nothing else.</b></i>
    (Unattributed Trad.)
    <b><i>He that buys land buys many stones.
    He that buys flesh buys many bones.
    He that buys eggs buys many shells,
    But he that buys good beer buys nothing else.</b></i>
    (Unattributed Trad.)
  • tabs
    tabs Posts: 145
    How long is a ball of string? If you state your age, experience and level of fitness, a general answer can be given. As a rough guide, if you're between 20 and 30 years of age, riding 100-150 miles per week, 25 minutes is respectable after 4 or 5 attempts. If you're over 40, 27 to 28 minutes. Having said that, many veterans of 60+ with years of experience can do 22-23's.
    Just do your first one, make yourself sick at 9 miles, and hang on for the last mile, and fall off at the end. Then you'll have done your best!
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664