sore rear!! saddle info and advice

on2wheels
on2wheels Posts: 102
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
I am relatively new to cycling, just over 2 years, but love it even though I'm a bit of a fair weather cyclists, one problem I have though is saddle soreness.

Every time I do more than 10 miles I "feel" it. Tried a few different saddles, can't afford and can't justify buying another just to try out.

My father-in-law of 72 years rides every day up to 70 or so miles on a saddle with no gel and hardly any padding with no problem. I have persevered doing 20's and a couple of 30's but it is really uncomfortable during the last part of the ride and the day after.

I have researched on the web, about sit bones etc. I also read somewhere on the web that there are 2 widths of saddle, is this right, I am on the small side 5'6", what saddle widths are available? Am I missing something, is my bike not fitting me properly, I don't rock when pedalling, so I think my saddle height is ok, any advice would be greatly appreciated

PS I do wear padded shorts, that helped a bit!! [:D]

Comments

• Woody2
    Woody2 Posts: 32
    Specialized do different widths (three I think). Check their Body Geometry web site. Also, one of the Selle brands is doing a try before you buy deal with the shops. Take a saddle for œ20 and keep replacing it until you find one that suits. When you finally decide, the 20 notes go towards your purchase. Also suggest you try the super Selle San Marco range (for people with seat problems) on www.bicyclerubber.com Prices vary from œ19 to œ170 for all manner of materials.
  • penugent
    penugent Posts: 913
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by on2wheels</i>

<font color="blue"><i>Tried a few different saddles, can't afford and can't justify buying another just to try out.</i></font id="blue">