Using Drops

Aidocp
Aidocp Posts: 868
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
Hi,

Has anyone got any advice on using drops, I'm new to this road bike thing, tonight was my second ride, all my previous bikes have/had drops. With my previous Hybrid the Sirrus I had to work hard to get a solo average speed of 16.1mph but with the Roadie it was much easier and I averaged 16.6mph for 33.5miles tonight (similar route, pretty flat, although there wasn't much wind). I was concious of the fact I could have used the drops more, it seemed to be more comfortable (safety wise) being on the hoods, gears and brakes, perhaps it a hybrid thing[:I]
Perhaps I could rotate the the bars towards me to get better reach in the dropped position?

If I had a baby elephant, who would take it for walks?

Comments

• fossyant
    fossyant Posts: 2,549
    Use what feels comfortable - I use the hoods most of the times these days, but achieve the same position as on the drops - it's just about relieving pain/stress in one position - something road bikes have over MTB's... the only one though ! [:p]
  • Big Tcp
    Big Tcp Posts: 163
    You'll find that even racers don't ride on the drops a lot of the time. Riding on the drops does make a difference to your speed, but not as much as you might think. When climbing hills, it's actually more efficient to ride on the tops. You should have your bars postioned so that the bottom part is parallel to the ground.
  • fossyant
    fossyant Posts: 2,549
    Bar bottom's parallel to the road - isn't right.

It's either a slight rise or a major one these days - I go with aligning the rise as a slight one, not parallel but I date my set up to Bernhard Hinault's bike set up guide ! Still a lot of sensible stuff in it that applies today, and it was the first major study to bike setup !
  • Big Tcp
    Big Tcp Posts: 163