Prescription Sunglasses

scannings
scannings Posts: 82
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
Hi I'm thinking about getting a pair so that I can ride when my eyes are sore and I can't wear my contact lenses. Anyone any idea how good the Scorcher ones that are currently being advertised are. My optician tells me that as my prescription is -3.0 then I'll get distortion through all but the middle of them. I'm no expert so an advice or experience please?
Ta
Steve

At the end of the day......................................it gets dark.

Comments

• xio
    xio Posts: 212
    Rudy Project (and doubtless many others) do cycling glasses where you can add a prescription insert.
  • I have never heard of 'scorcher', however with a prescription of -3 you should be ok for most types of prescription sport glasses. I would suggest that your optician is being a little bit more than pessimistic
    Look at optilabs, rudy project, adidas, briko, oakley, bolle, smith etc.
    I'm picking up some new RP Exception (<http://www.gosportspex.com/RudyProjectExceptionPrescriptionSportsGlasses.asp>)this week, glazed to -10.5.
  • scannings
    scannings Posts: 82
    Sorry should have said that the Scorcher shades I've seen advertised are from optilabs. Thanks for the advice folks as I say I'm no expert I just know that I can't ride without either lenses or specs and that this time of year in regular specs is no good plus you always get things in your eyes without decent cycling specs in my experience!!
    Ta
    Steve

• McBain_v1
    McBain_v1 Posts: 5,237
    I have two sets of gigs from Optilabs and they are both excellent. My first are the high-contrast permanently dark type, the second have the reactolite lenses that darken as it gets sunnier. I think that the "Scorcher" frame looks fine. Only thing with Optilabs is that you must get your pupil separation distance right or the frame is apt to be a bit too big / small.

<font size="1">