Cornering tips

ScottHybridP5
ScottHybridP5 Posts: 8
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
Hi all, I am new to road cycling and have recently bought a hybrid as i like the versatility. My hybrid has front suspension and I wondered if I should be aware when cornering at speed. I suspect confidence is a huge part of how you corner and at what speed. What I am asking is for tips on cornering as I know a few motorcyclist and they say that its all in the lean and not in the turn of the handlebars. They also talked about opposite lock though I am not sure if this is relevant to cycling.

I was out the other day and went round a corner at a quick speed though ended up having to use the pavement as I got a bit nervy. Lucky it was empty though I always look for an escape route.

Your thoughts and tips would be appreciated.

My bike details are Scott Sportster P5 hybrid, 700c X 32 tyres, front suspension (reasonably hard)

Clip in and get going
Cheers,

Ray

"Clip in and get going"

My Bike http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z277/rwph/

Comments

• Buggi
    Buggi Posts: 674
    opposite lock is for motorcyclists. i think it's when they lean the bike down so their knee is almost touching the floor and the wheel is turned the opposite way to what they want to turn. you see it on the race track a lot, take a look. i've never heard of it on a hybrid. i think you need a lot of speed to be able to do it.

confidence is key, but some tips i would say are:

1. stay as upright as poss if the road is wet (especially if going over metal drains/manhole covers) or if road is gravelly. gravel burn is not nice.
    2. brake to a slower speed <u>before </u>taking corner, not during taking a corner.
    3. if you are used to a mountain bike, be aware that hybrids and race bikes have wider cornering.

ps. what terrain are you using your bike on? you might wanna ditch the suspension if you're using it for road only. it's not really necessary on the road and uses up energy.