I'm sure this is madness...

Spawn of Cabbie
Spawn of Cabbie Posts: 382
edited May 2007 in Tour & expedition
Me and a few friends are going to La Clusaz, which is about an hour south of Geneva. Now, the normal route is to fly to Geneva and get a cab into the Alps.
For some reason, last night, I thought, sod it - I'll set off a week or so early and cycle there.

Maybe I'll get the train to Paris.

I've never done any touring before and I want to go as light as possible. I'll be going on a Specialized Allez.

What sort of stuff do I need to add to that? I imagine panniers etc.

Comments

• gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    hmm - perhaps it is madness - not from a distance point of view - but if the idea of you and friends going there was to get a few alpine climbs in then you'd be better with fresh legs - i.e. not cycling to get there first!

Otherwise, train to paris, you will need panniers yes - not sure if your allez has rack mounts does it? - I'd probably put the stem a bit higher and raise the bars (reduce the saddle / bars differential). I'd imagine it's around 400 miles so perhaps 4 or 5 days would be achievable.
  • Thanks.

We wouldn't be going for Apline climbs and the like - Infact I don't think my cycle there idea would have any other takers.

I think Paris - La Clusaz is about 560km by car. I imagine this might be a bit longer if you have to take a more cycle friendly route.
  • lardarse rider
    lardarse rider Posts: 1,447
    You could do it easily. Just take along one of these[;)]

Please be upstanding for the Mayor of Simpleton

I\'m pushing the pedals on my season cycle
  • wasi
    wasi Posts: 109
    Why madness? I think this is perfectly normal ... should thinking this worry me?

As that may be, all you need should fit into a Carradice saddle bag or a handle bar bag. 100-120miles/day shouldn't be a problem. I'd be tempted to start at my door step instead of Paris, though.