clipless pedals: fell off again!

popette
popette Posts: 2,089
edited February 2008 in Road beginners
Hiya,

I've been cycling for about two months now, 6 weeks of that time I've been using clipless pedals. My first venture out resulted in two hilarious falls. It wasn't a problem as it was very early in the morning and the roads were quiet. I brushed myself down and laughed it off.
Since then my confidence has grown, I've been racking up the miles (48 miles in 3 hours on Sunday) and I thought I had the pedals sorted. However, last night I fell again. This time during peak time traffic and actually into the oncoming traffic. A white van man stopped just in front of me. My knee got quite a bad cut but worse than that is my dented confidence. I feel a bit low about the whole thing. A few minutes later an oncoming car nearly ran straight into me as it overtook a slower moving car. By the time I got home to my four young children, my nerves were shattered.
I want to go fast. I want to go far. I don't want to die!!
I read somewhere that everyone always has 3 clipping falls. I really hope that this is the last one.
feeling sorry for myself so hope you have some words of encouragement (purleeeease)
Popette

Comments

• il_principe
    il_principe Posts: 9,155
    Stick with it, it will become second nature. Are your clips nice and easy to clip out of or are you just forgetting? I've never actually fallen (touch wood) but had some pretty hairy moments when I first started. Tried riding a mates hybrid the other day and found "normal" pedals felt totally wrong.

My Best Bike
  • Alcdrewcp
    Alcdrewcp Posts: 63
    Keep at. One thing I might sugest is do some start stop practice some where very quiet to help rebuild you cliping/unclipping confidence.