Silly commuting racing

Comments

• veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,412
    Definitely the typing, work is bad for you 😉
    Kids are doing well thanks, both at uni and bankrupting me.
  • veronese68
    Not really a commute, but in the spirit of this thread. Popped into Kingston after work to pick up new SPD shoes, passed a lycra clad roadie stood on the pedals to accelerate, I was on the pub hack in brogues, trousers and a shirt. Seated of course. He pulled up next to me at the next set of lights and thanked me for geeing him up in a good humoured way. I tried not to show I was panting.
  • dyrlac
    dyrlac Posts: 751
    In an attempt to get this thread moving again--as a WFH refusenik I've been commuting on the Embankment racetrack daily since May 2021. Starting to see a few more familiar faces/bikes ... more please!

Lovely easterly yesterday got me a PB up Sawyers in Richmond Park as part of a rapid-for-me <18:30 ACW lap (complimented by a fellow rider for setting a good 268W pace up towards Roehampton, which made me feel great, until I noticed he was wearing trainers on flat pedals :| ).

This morning I coincidentally ran into a work mate near Battersea Bridge. A frantic 2-up breakaway ensued along the river into the wind. All matches burned by the time we got to Parliament Square and needed to have a small lie down.

After gathering dust for a while, my non-fugly-with-the-normal-stem 2017 S5 is setting PBs on my usual commuting route that I've ridden more than 1,200 times each way. All hail the 52T faux-pro chainset which is definitionally faster (on the flat) to the 48/35 AXS I have on my commuter.
  • mr_ribble
    mr_ribble Posts: 1,054
    Long live the thread....

I lost interested when @Green Brompton left I'm afraid ...
  • mr_ribble
    Although I sometimes wonder what happened to @jzed @cjcp @tgotb @itboffin @asprilla @Sketchley @Wrath Rob @iPete @notsoblue @rjsterry @dhope @Kieran_Burns @jonginge @il_principe @rick_chasey