Opinions on bovine colostrum

EasyTom
EasyTom Posts: 46
edited July 2007 in Pro race
I'm trying a colostrum supplement in the mornings and have found that I haven't caught a bug since, which is nice - but have no serious proof that it's done anything. My performance is improving, but it would be anyway because I'm new to racing. I was wondering if anyone else on this forum is using it and has any strong opinions or has been involved in tests that have proved the efficacy of colostrum? [:)]
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Tom -
http://www.sharpenson.co.uk

Comments

• <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Arial, Helvetica, Verdana" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by EasyTom</i>

I'm trying a colostrum supplement in the mornings and have found
    that I haven't caught a bug since, which is nice - but have no serious
    proof that it's done anything. My performance is improving, but it would
    be anyway because I'm new to racing. I was wondering if anyone else on
    this forum is using it and has any strong opinions or has been involved
    in tests that have proved the efficacy of colostrum? [:)]
    <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

A couple of comments:
    - have you thought about how they get this stuff? (I don't suppose it can be that pleasant for the cow or calf)
    - colostrum is supposed to protect the <i>immune-naive</i> newborn calf. Presumably there is a similar colostrum for humans. However, adult humans are not immune-naive, so I would doubt very much that there is any significant benefit in taking colostrum.

In any case, if you are happy spending the money, and <i>you</i> think it is having a beneficial effect, you might as well carry on. It at least benefits a section of the national economy. There's also the potential for a placebo effect. Mind you I have never taken colostrum, and I cannot remember the last time I had a cold.