Weather rant!

Can't remember a worse start to the year than is year 2024 in Nottingham. Been nothing but high winds and rain for months! I was hoping for a change when evenings became lighter but only managed two decent evenings where it wasn't raining or windy so far and we are in mid April already.

Looking forward to better times [hopefully].

Comments

• I have been riding on the roads for over 20 years, our weather patterns have changed noticeably in that period, but over the last 5 years it has really deteriorated significantly (we all now what is causing it!).

It is now wind 12 months of the year, and pretty much strong winds for all but the summer months (even 10 years ago, you never got much more than light winds in autumn/winter and summer you could almost guarantee still weather).

The heavy rains and flooding are very much a newer development, this seems to have really taken hold in the last 2 or 3 years.

I would also say year round it is much milder, but as a result, spring and summer is generally cooler. I used to be in bibshorts and SS jerseys by end of march, and back into autumn gear by September. I now find the summer gear doesn't come out until April/May, but I am generally still in shorts until late October.

Sadly, I suspect this is the dominant pattern now and will just worsen. You either get on with it and ride through the crap weather, or stick to the turbo.

• N0bodyOfTheGoat
    N0bodyOfTheGoat Posts: 5,850

So far this year, the weather highlights seem to have been the last three Saturdays in Southampton and Hampshire... At least I managed to get out on the bike, albeit a very slow pace, for two of them.

Most of March was very wet and quite windy, as was most of autumn '23 and winter, don't think I even did a handful of rides outdoors from first week of October until late March and was completely reliant of the turbo.

Back to blustery and odd rain shower today, with a temp drop from feels like 17C down to around feels like 8C!