Shimano Ultegra vs Prime Primavera

Hiya all, another wheels thread - it's sale time, and the soon-to-die Wiggle is offering its Primavera wheels at £675, whereas Sigma has the Ultegra 8170 at £799. I know that there's varying opinions on the Primes, plus there's the whole future of Wiggle to consider, but the reviews are good and they're £125 cheaper; the Shimano's are the 'safe' choice, and build quality is likely to be better.

Any thoughts on which to go for? I'm really torn. Or I could get some handbuilts using Venn rims...

It's just a hill. Get over it.

Comments

• Not on the wheels as I have no experience of either set, but with regards Wiggle I would personally avoid any high value purchases at present. At least until the future of the company is resolved.

• slowmart
    slowmart Posts: 4,485

Use your credit card if your choose prime. The card provider is also the guarantor in law on any purchase over £100 and under £30k.

Of course it may not be a timely or straightforward claim.

I have prime carbon bars, they have been faultless and I wouldn’t have a problem purchasing any prime product.

Except I wouldn’t purchase from wiggle until/if they come out of administration.

“Give a man a fish and feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to cycle and he will realize fishing is stupid and boring”

Desmond Tutu
  • Crazy how I've still got a pair of https://www.sigmasports.com/item/Vel/50-RL-Carbon-Tubeless-Disc-Wheelset/QS28 still yet to be fully setup for their first ride ~14 months on from buying them in their Black Friday sale... Rotors fitted; valve extensions on the Vittoria latex tubes; but yet to fit tubes; tyres and cassette!

Hopefully '24 will be a better year for me, my lack of power (speed) and stamina in '23 through long covid fatigue made the idea of riding them feel a waste, ironically for most of '22 they could have made a chunk of difference.