So, how does Pogacar beat Vingegaard?

Lulu93
Lulu93 Posts: 16
Hello all, forum newbie here! I'm a big fan of the TdF and started off desperate for Vingegaard to beat Pogi. I even cheered as he passed him on the Col du Granon. But then watching Pogi battle on to the top and being so gracious in defeat, and then seeing how he responded and attacked on every stage and was always so positive and cheerful, somewhere along the way I realised that I was actually team Pogacar.

So my question now, is how do you think Pogacar goes about beating Vingegaard next year? Can he beat Vingegaard next year? Assuming that they both are fit, what do Pogi and UAE need to do if they are going to beat Vingegaard?

I should stress that I really like Vingegaard too - I'm not at all sad that he won. I'm super excited to see them both (hopefully) battling again next year. But my impression was that Vingegaard was able to stick to Pogi like glue for a lot of the tour, then drop him on some of the steepest climbs. So how does Pogi counter this next year?

Comments

• shirley_basso
    shirley_basso Posts: 6,195
    Hi Lulu - welcome to the forum. Hope you had a great time in France.

Good place to look about thoughts on why Pog lost are here, so covers how he should have / could have won.

https://forum.bikeradar.com/discussion/13118806

Reality is I think he will struggle given the strength of Jumbo Visma.
  • TheBigBean
    TheBigBean Posts: 20,511
    He could follow the Roglic template and win by nabbing bonus seconds.
  • phreak
    phreak Posts: 2,892
    A bit of perspective is perhaps needed, as before this race Pogacar has beaten Vindegaard pretty much every time they've started a race together. Even in this year's Tour, the head-to-head is 16/5 in favour of Pogacar.
  • Lulu93

Hi Lulu - welcome to the forum. Hope you had a great time in France.

Good place to look about thoughts on why Pog lost are here, so covers how he should have / could have won.