Gt Palomar seat post question and repair question

rustyjusty
rustyjusty Posts: 35
edited June 2022 in MTB workshop & tech
A neighbour was throwing out a gt palomar that he doesnt use and has a rusty chain and missing seat post. and rusty derailleurs so i got it off him. See photos attached below, its missing a seat. Im a novice at repairs although have changed a cassette before.

Question 1: I tried a seat post that i had and it didnt fit, so i measured the diameter of the hole in the frame, the hole where the seat post goes, and it seems to measured 27mm. What diameter/width seat post do i need to buy for this and im guessing ill need the connector part that fits on to the seat or does that come with the post ?

Question 2: what would be a good reliable and not too expensive cassette to buy for this bike ? I think its got 6 speed on the back although the right shifter can accommodate 7 speeds, and front deraiileur, can i use any 3 speed thumb shifter ones ?

Has anyone any idea what year this bike is from from the photo ?

Comments

• MattFalle
    MattFalle Posts: 11,644

The camera down the willy isn't anything like as bad as it sounds.
  • rustyjusty
    MattFalle said:

There have been different models of palomar over the years and im guessing different sizes of posts ?, i did measure the diameter of the hole where the seat post slots and it seemed to read 27mm. Is the post usually slightly narrower than the hole to allow it to fit and for the clamp to hold it? Coz ive seen 27mm posts and 27.2 ones etc.
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    How did you measure? Vernier calipers are the only thing accurate enough really because seatposts vary by 0.2mm. 27.2mm is the most common, but 27.0mm and 26.8mm both exist. What size is the post you tried which didn't fit?
  • rustyjusty
    edited June 2022