Giant trance 3 for a newbie

Hi All

Decided to finally get myself a MTB and a Giant trance 3 (2016) has come up for sale, potentially around 600. It's standard (Rockshox and 10 spd deore) other than replacement handlebars.
I've had a look and noticed some stiffness when spinning the crank so think the BB may need replacing, other than that and a few scratches, it's in good condition.

Please can someone advise on this bike - some reviews are saying its great, but one in particular said the suspension is terrible.
I'm a beginner (but have ridden road bikes for years), so I don't need top end but would like something that will last and I could upgrade in future.

https://99spokes.com/en-GB/bikes/giant/2016/trance-27.5-3

https://www.vitalmtb.com/product/guide/Bikes,3/Giant/Trance-27-5-3,12776#product-reviews/1561/expand

thanks

Comments

• chatlow
    chatlow Posts: 845
    thank you - appreciate that, as I'm close to saying yes. he hasn't ridden it in 2 years so will definitely need a service (especially the BB) and would also like to fit a dropper post to it. Seems a very good deal for 600ish, fingers crossed nothing major is up with it
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,495
    edited January 2022
    I think the trance is a good bike - but are you sure that you need full suspension?

I'm a long term roadie who's recently got an MTB and I got a 29er hardtail and it's been great for what I need.

Hardtails are at a lower price point to buy and there's less to maintain and to go wrong on them over time.
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    edited January 2022
    The Giant Trance was a very good bike in its day, may still be now, I haven't kept up. The bike is five years old, maybe older and has not been ridden for the last 2 years (so the seller says). What sort of maintenance has it had, is the seller the original owner, what sort of trails has it been ridden on, how large is the seller, can you believe him?