Spokesman Wheels, Kinetic One & Prime BlackEdition Wheels

Cycling556
Cycling556 Posts: 7
edited March 2019 in Road buying advice
Hello, I am new to cycling and want to upgrade my wheels. I am interested in purchasing a wheelset from http://www.spokesmanwheels.co.uk or Kinetic-one.co.uk. can anyone comment on either of these wheel builders products? Looking at 38, 50 or 60mm carbon tubular or clincher but would like to hear peoples opinions of their products before deciding. On a budget so looking at those wheel builders or Prime BlackEdition 50 or 60 from Wiggle or Chain Reaction Cycles. If anyone has any thoughts on those, I'd like to hear also?
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    Yes, I had a set of carbon clinchers from Spokesman and couldn't fault them. I was about to buy another set from him when a new set of Mavic Cosmic Carbon Pro UST from an online retailer landed in my hands for less money. Right place, right time.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • philthy3 wrote:
    Yes, I had a set of carbon clinchers from Spokesman and couldn't fault them. I was about to buy another set from him when a new set of Mavic Cosmic Carbon Pro UST from an online retailer landed in my hands for less money. Right place, right time.

Thanks for reply. Are they good quality and safe? How would they compare to the the Mavics out of curiousity?
  • I recently bought a set of 38mm disc wheels from Spokesman, built on Hope RS4 hubs with Sapim c x ray spokes, Can't fault the wheels, excellent communication from Mark and a good price. Turnaround was a little over a week.

They are fairly light too for disc wheels, I weighed them at just under 1450g inc. rim tape (was quoted about 1450g). I went for Hope as I have previous experience of them on other handbuilt wheels and have found them to be great. My Trek Emonda SL6 disc is posted in the 'your road bikes' section, with the wheels fitted.