handle bars dropped can't make the bike safe?

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right section. It's definitely not a MTB but I don't think it's a road bike either. It's a bike my partner recently bought, she is very new to cycling - first bike as a grown up. Although I cycle a lot now, I am still a newbie myself, hence not having a clue how to solve this problem.

She bought it 2nd hand from a shop, I think it's this model.

She wanted the handle bars 'moved' closer to a 'dutch bike' position. So, angled 'up' to make it even higher compared to the saddle.

I Allen keyed it - moved the handle bar, then tightened it up.

On the second ride after this, suddenly the handle bars 'fell' - we had to walk home. I then tried to Allen key it super tight. I presumed it was my fault for not tightening it enough the first time. The red part is where I had originally 'loosened' it to drop the bars, and where I was tightening it.

I used all my might to tighten it up.

This time after doing so - it didn't keep the handle bars in place at all. I don't know how it did the first time? It feels like some part has broken and fallen off - that connects the part I was tightening [red circle] and the part underneath that it somehow should be attached to [green circle].

My partner wants to take the bike to Halfords to fix it. But I'm not sure what it needs? Is this something I can fix at home. Is it something Halfords can fix? As if it's a unique bike fitting they haven't seen I'm not sure Halfords are likely to be able to help.

I'm hoping this is a standard connection for handle bars - and I'm just showing my newbie-ish-ness [stupidity] and that it's an easy solve.

Thanks for reading this, and thanks for any comments, help, abuse... all are welcome, or deserved.

xx

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,702