900 miles in 8 days

spruce86
spruce86 Posts: 21
Hello all,

I am new to this forum and new to long distance cycling so I don't really know what my limitations are and I don't have any training techniques to speak of.

What I wanted to know is, would 900 miles in 8 days be possible for someone in my position, and what's more, would it be possible in time for July 2011?

This is only a prospective idea so I'm not actually going out to do it yet, I'm just asking for peoples ideas on what would be possible.

If it is possible, how would it be best to train for this?

Thanks.

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Provided you are willing/able to put in the training time between then and now, it's almost certainly possible even if you are starting off as a complete novice.

Just build your weekly mileage steadily week-on-week to the point where you can ride 80/90 miles on consecutive days and you should be fine.

Is it an End-to-End ride?
  • It is very almost an end-to-end ride. The route is actually Aberdeen to Liskeard. We were planning on doing the ride in relay so covering a much smaller area each day between us, however the more we have planned and the more we look at the challenge the more we are convinced that we would much prefer to ride the whole distance.

We were planning on training with moderate to long distances until May time, at which point we would do a couple of consecutive days of long distances so that we had a good idea of whether or not we were up to the job.