Cube Aim SL 2021 dropper seat post

Hi All,

I'm very new to mountain biking and have had some good advice to fit a dropper post to my bike. Now, I know my frame has internal routing but I can't see where it would enter the seat post tube so my question is will an internal post actually fit or is it external only? This bike has 3 sprockets at the front (referred to as 3X I believe?) so there's no obvious cable route in this area of the post.
If anyone has experience of this particular Cube bike could help me out I'd appreciate it!

Comments

• reaperactual
    reaperactual Posts: 1,185
    edited September 2021
    Hello and welcome.👍Not familiar with your bike but looking at pics it's very much aimed at XC, gravel roads, smooth trails and probably good on the road too.

Your bike does have internal routing for the brakes and shift cables, etc. but unfortunately that doesn't mean it has routing for an internal dropper post.

Not having relevant holes located in the frame for a smooth cable route means you would be better off buying an external dropper or possibly an 'under the seat lever' without a cable like the KS E10 for example.

Worth taking a close look as you could possibly have spare existing external cable guides to neatly route the dropper cable to the handlebars. 😉
  • Thanks @reaperactual That's pretty much confirmed my thoughts but I had to check! The cables that are routed in the down tube basically pop back out in front of the crank and I've looked again and can't see any way they would route back into the seat post tube. External dropper post it is then, Cheers for the reply :)
  • reaperactual
    edited September 2021
    Your welcome @stevenkiel. Congrats on the new bike, enjoy! 😎🤟
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Cube’s description of the bike states that “the frame's internal cable routing even allows for a future dropper post upgrade”.