Light recommendations...

I'm after some light recommendations please on what to go for..

My use use is generally just road riding. Not really in the dark but want good visibility for safety.

I'm considering the Garmin Varia RTL515 for the rear light given its radar feature... Not sure I need the Varia for the front but looking for your expert recommendations as I am new to all of this...

TIA.

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,517
    Yes, Varia rear.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,612
    Exposure lights ftw. Can’t go wrong getting one of those.
  • PMark
    PMark Posts: 159
    I use the Halfords advanced 1600 on front (can often find deals for them on eBay, got mine for £35). I mount it under my bike computer on a GoPro mount, plus it doubles up as a usb battery, so great for all day rides in summer.
  • Exposure lights ftw. Can’t go wrong getting one of those.

Any particular model?

• The Exposure ones are probably over my budget which is a shame so I guess I could look at the Halfords 1600.. or some of the other models suggested.

Also, do you still need to house a rear reflector if you have a rear light.. I seem to recall the law in the UK is that you need both if riding in dark (not just the rear light).
  • mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,613

The Exposure ones are probably over my budget which is a shame so I guess I could look at the Halfords 1600.. or some of the other models suggested.

Also, do you still need to house a rear reflector if you have a rear light.. I seem to recall the law in the UK is that you need both if riding in dark (not just the rear light).

The law also states you should have pedal reflectors but you probably haven't got those either!

Seriously though, I would suggest always running at least two rear lights. Guards against the risk of one going flat, falling off etc etc.
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,579
    edited August 2021