Installing Shimano SPD SL Pedals/cleats on spin bike

Hello,

I've ordered a pair of Shimano SPD SL RS500 pedals and road cycling shoes for my new spin bike. I'm new to SPD SL pedals and cleats.

I've read conflicting advice re: grease/anti-freeze... to use when installing new pedals. Could anyone give me some guidance please? Would a cheap tube of Lithium grease do or do I need some proper bike grease? I'd have no other use for it apart from the spin bike pedals and adjustment knob I suppose.

The tools provided with the bike weren't particularly great. I had no problem installing the original toe-cage pedals (unlike the seat :'( ) with the provided spanner but I've never fitted SPD SL pedals before. Should I invest in a pedal spanner?

I know nothing about adjusting the pedals/cleats tension and info I've found online is not particularly clear to this newbie :# . Any tips would be much appreciated.

Many thanks for your help.

Comments

• amrushton
    amrushton Posts: 1,249
    lithium grease will be fine. Shouldnt need a pedal spanner there is usually a hex bolt on the pedal spindle to allow to use an allen key. Dont overtighten them. Tight but not immovable. just leave the tension on the pedals alone for the moment. Dont forget to grease the cleat bolts
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    If I'm not mistaken Shimano components usually come with an instruction sheet. Why don't you try reading that first? You might learn more than you'll learn on this site.
  • Spinster
    Spinster Posts: 7
    amrushton said:

lithium grease will be fine. Shouldnt need a pedal spanner there is usually a hex bolt on the pedal spindle to allow to use an allen key. Dont overtighten them. Tight but not immovable. just leave the tension on the pedals alone for the moment. Dont forget to grease the cleat bolts

Thanks very much for your tips, @amrushton. Appreciate it! I'd made a note re: greasing cleats bolts but I'd have forgotten. Thanks for the reminder :)
  • Spinster