BREXIT - Is This Really Still Rumbling On? 😴

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 27,486
    john80 said:

People starting to come round to the idea that a skills based immigration system is best of all solutions on the basis that you have to have some sort of system. Or are we still advocating the EU racist approach of come on in Polish but you Indians get to the back of the queue. But I am a fully qualified doctor with a young family. Stand aside we have a low skills car washer willing to work in modern slavery. It is like a comedy sketch of stupidity.

Still not getting the perks for members idea, I see. Most of the Eastern European contractors I work with (and the handful of architectural staff we have employed) have at least one degree if not two. You may want to adjust your assumptions.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • kingstongraham
    kingstongraham Posts: 26,132
    Stevo_666 said:

elbowloh said:

Stevo_666 said:

Pross said:

I can't recall anyone on here regarding Barnier highly. People did however point out he was negotiating for the EU so his actions had to be viewed with that in mind.

Quite a few people seemed to support his/the EU's position during the negotiations, so I can only imagine they thought he was very wise and competent given that he was negotiating for the other side.
    That's not what I remember. What I remember is that people thought the EU was just protecting their own interests as is their right and it was Barnier's job to present that position.
    You're making a different point there. People were supporting the EU on here.
    Had a spare 10 minutes, and did a search for "Barnier" on here. Can't find these posts.
  • Stevo_666
    Stevo_666 Posts: 58,166
    edited May 2021
    rjsterry said: