Things you have recently learnt

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,735
    edited May 2021
    The idea that China is merely developing as an exporting nation baffles me.
    Global economic domination once fully developed?

Edited for clarity.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,582
    pblakeney said:

Global domination once fully developed?

China has been trying to pivot away from an export led economy to a consumption led economy for a while.
  • surrey_commuter
    surrey_commuter Posts: 18,866
    I am sure that Rem is far cleverer than me but is there not a chance that these figures are distorted by trade going through Rotterdam.

Would he calculate turnover for G4S by adding up the cash in the back of every van?
  • surrey_commuter
    pblakeney said:

You are being suckered in to paying for some more aircraft carriers and nuclear weapons.

China does not even have the ability to dominate Taiwan. USA has more assets to project military might than the rest of the world put together. China has a long history of being the invadee rather than the invader. Leave it for your grandchildren to worry about.
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,735

pblakeney said:

You are being suckered in to paying for some more aircraft carriers and nuclear weapons.

China does not even have the ability to dominate Taiwan. USA has more assets to project military might than the rest of the world put together. China has a long history of being the invadee rather than the invader. Leave it for your grandchildren to worry about.
    I meant economic domination. Nothing to do with military.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • First.Aspect