Pedals and flats

Hi, looking for other folk's experience in getting used to different pedal systems.

I've been riding road bikes for over 40 years, initially using the tortuous horrors that were toe clips and straps. As soon as I saw Look's clipless pedals I jumped ship and have used various brands and styles since, having become quite happy with both Time and Shimano.

I have fairly recently started mountain biking, mostly trail centre stuff, but really struggle with flat pedals and grippy shoes. The pedals are Nukeproof horizons and shoes are 5 tens. Things are grippy but I never quite feel I get my feet in the correct position on the platform. I've also had a few, let's say, scraped shins.

Obviously I could swap out for spd pedals but I'm not sure I'm comfortable enough in being able to get my foot out quick enough if I need to compared to a flat pedal. Possibly a common beginner's problem?

Are Candy bros clipless fast releasing and any different to spd or pretty much the same thing?

Thanks

Comments

• mully79
    mully79 Posts: 904
    I would say you have to actively learn to ride flats. It doesnt come naturally unless you come from BMX.
    Weighting the pedals by pumping in the right place, using heels down etc are all techniques to learn and practise until you no longer shred your shins.

Clipless mtb pedals can mask bad technique but make good technique more efficient. I never had any problems crashing with clipless or taking my foot off.

The worst situation was always on the steep/rocky descents where it is almost impossible to get clipped in once you have stopped/crashed/dabbed. Clipless shoes have no grip whatsoever when not clipped in. For me this is the reason why I ride flats.
  • wilberforce
    wilberforce Posts: 294
    I am with Mully on this one.
    I always used to shred my shins and calf’s with flats (DMR pedals and 5-10s, but with practice and the better technique, scrapes are now much less frequent
  • mankybianchi