c'dale Supersix evo pf30

chatlow
chatlow Posts: 845
edited April 2021 in Workshop
Hi All

I give in, I've had to create a quick thread to confirm my setup and options. I apologise as prob been covered to death

I have a 2014 Supersix evo (Sram). Frame says BB30, but the shell shows press-fit 30. Great start.

Anyway, my LH bearing is rough and needs replacing. Had hoped I could whack it out with a hammer and replace with a 6806 Enduro bearing I have in the shed. I'm noticing some type of small cup or lip on each side, which I guess these bearings are pressed into.

Can they be knocked out without touching the black cup or does the whole thing need removing? And with the new bearing, do I need to press it into the cup somehow before using my BB tool to press both into the frame?

Appreciate any advice

Thanks

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,172
    I am not an expert on BB standards, but it's BB30 a press fit?
    left the forum March 2023
  • chatlow
    Both are press fit but I'm reading pf30 have a small shell or cup they go in to that presses into the frame

I was just trying to work out if my LH bearing could be replaced without using a special tool to remove both bearing and its housing also
  • david37
    david37 Posts: 1,313
    the frame says BB30 loud and proud but i can assure you its PF30

Re the black cups. the whole PF30 design required removal of the cups. cheap bike shops employing children or couldnt care less chancers will tell you that you only need replace the bearings.

This is the route to creaks

Some bike shops bond the cups in, Specialized i believe encouraged its shops to do just that. since their frames were so pants having driven down costs at Merida their manufacturer.

However you have a cannondale frame. BANG out the cups and replace with a Wheels mfring bottom bracket. Creak free longevity.

• chatlow
    edited April 2021