Improving security of up and over garage door

2»

Comments

• daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,577
    edited April 2021
    womack said:

daniel_b said:

When I had an up and over, I removed the handle altogether, and blanked it off.

Bolted 6 bits of wood (drilled the screw heads after tightening so a scrote could not simply undo them - 4 per piece of wood) on to the inside, one on each side that took a big chunky slide bolt, and then the 4 on the bottom of the front door, which also took bolts, and for which I drilled down into the concrete.

Means you can't simply open it from outside, but it was a double, and quite the mission anyway.
    Switched to an electric roller door a couple of years ago, and it's night and day. So much more usable, much more space inside, and much more secure.

Daniel. Looking at going electric roller door myself. Interested in the part you say more secure.

Do they have multipoint locks on them, is that how they are more secure?

Total novice to electric doors so any tips you may have gratefully received.
    Hi Womack, I don't know 'all' the details, but for one there is no handle, or easy access point, as the door (depending on how you have it fitted) sits behind the brick part of your garage frontage, so nothing can be wedged in there to lever anything out of the way - plus it sits deep into the runners, so they will prevent movement.
    It also butts up solidly to the floor, and as long as you let it shut fully (and there's no real reason why you would not) the interlocking segments make it really very strong, so no easy way to wedge something under it, and even if you do, I don't believe the mechanism would yield anything as I understand that most (you'd need to ask the question) garage door motors are designed to push the door down until activated by the switch or a remote - so if someone did try and lever it up, it should just force it down again.