Help needed, Gt Outpost Trail front derailleur question

rustyjusty
rustyjusty Posts: 35
edited March 2021 in MTB workshop & tech
I've got a 1996 Gt Outpost trail bike and I ordered a new front derailleur which arrived today, the exact same model number which is a Shimano Altus FD CT92, it was new old stock off eBay, however...when I fitted it I realised it was top pull and the one I took off is a bottom pull (gear cable pulls it from underneath/down)

I hadn't read the description on the item properly, I'm also new to bike repairs.

Question: do I have any option's to use this new derailleur as a top pull one bearing in mind there's no housing for the cables as this bike was designed for a bottom pull derailleur like the one I removed that bolts on to a bracket ?

If it can't be used which derailleur would be suitable for my model of bike?

Any good advice for an amateur much appreciated ! :smiley:

Comments

• Anyone?
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    You can use any 3-speed front derailleur. They are not indexed so any make is fine as long as it is bottom pull.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • JBA said:

You can use any 3-speed front derailleur. They are not indexed so any make is fine as long as it is bottom pull.

Thanks for the reply. What does not indexed mean?

My derailleur bolts to a bracket that sits round the bottom bracket. Guess I'd need to take the bracket off to fit new one?

To be fair I've got the old derailleur working a bit better now but I think the limit screws aren't working, when I turn the high and low screws i can't see any movement with the cage? Is this a likely problem
  • mully79
    mully79 Posts: 904
    Sorry, I replied and forgot to hit post !
    As JBA says any bottom pull derraileur.