Changing bike stem

Total novice here but the above is what my current bike stem / handledars look like. The issue I'm having is lack of stogare space in my hallway! Looking to change it for one of these but appreciate my current set up is completely different.

https://www.bikeinn.com/bike/satori-ahead-handle-stem/137642404/p?utm_source=google_products&utm_medium=merchant&id_producte=11140337&country=uk

Not at all good with bike terminology but pretty handy at doing these things myself.
Can the full handlebar stem be replaced on my bike to fit the above? If so are these things universal and what other "bits" would I need to get?

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,001
    Yours has a quill stem, which are different fit to the (now much more common) AHead type that fit onto the steerer (the tube that links the forks to the stem). Your ad looks like ahead type.
    Adapters do exist to convert quill to Ahead, but
    I would be VERY wary of using an adapter plus a third-party quick release mechanism. Failure here could have nasty consequences.
  • Thanks. So forgive my innoconce, but can't I just remove the full quill stem and add an ahead type stem?
  • So for example, installing something like this
    https://www.wiggle.co.uk/brand-x-quill-adaptor-alloy
  • Mad_Malx
    Yes, that's the adaptor I think (would need to check your existing tube diameter). The potential problem is that you would then be using an adaptor and then your quick release thingy, neither if which are likely to be as secure as your original setup.
    Folding bike people use QR stems all the time and the proper brands pass safety standards so they are not necessarily bad, but their design is a bit different.

I'm maybe being over cautious, but it definitely isn't something you want to go wrong. I don't know anything about the brand you are linking to.
  • Mad_Malx