Power Meters?

I'm looking for a power meter for the bike but undecided on what to go for.

I'm tempted by powermeter pedals but have read some pretty poor reviews of both Garmin and Powertap pedals. Are the Favero pedals any better?

I've used a Quarq unit in the past and it's been bombproof but it seems they don't do them with GXP BB's any more which is what I'm after.

Any advice?

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    Favero Assiomas have pretty much universally good reviews. I have a few sets, they're great. If you're happy using Look cleats, there's basically nothing better.

Power2Max NG/NG Eco are very good too, and they have lots of fitment options, including the 3 bolt direct mount used on most GXP granks.
  • I’ve been using dual sided power tap pedals for a couple of years. The only issue they’ve given me is the odd spurious message from the H.U. telling me that one of them has lost signal. A quick check on the graphics screen showed that to be a spurious message. They are also quite hungry on the batteries. However, the convenience of being able to use them on all my bikes, regardless of Chain set, makes them more useful than crank or hub based systems for me.
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    It's worth noting that the Powertap pedals have been discontinued, so support may prove to be a problem if you did buy them.
  • gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,510
    Favero.
  • crossed
    crossed Posts: 237
    I'd forgotten about Power2Max, I'll take a look at their offerings.
    The Favero look to be good for the price but I'm wondering whether to go with a crank system as it'll allow me the option of using SPD's as one of the bikes is a CX/gravel bike.
  • itboffin
    itboffin Posts: 20,052