Very unfit and out of shape

I came out the army in 2010 and was diagnosed with ptsd and anxiety and stress, been a battle ever since, not worked for last 4 years and very unfit and out of shape could do with loosing a stone in weight and my mental health doctor told me to take up a sport and exercise so I got a second hand specialized allez elite and took up cycling but I'm not sure how far I should be cycling at first and feel really deflated at how unfit I am as I used to be so fit and active I could run 5 miles no problem not even out of breath, but I'm struggling on the bike my legs burn and my ass hurts is this because I'm new to cycling and not used to it

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,597
    If your legs are burning try spinning faster in an easier gear.
    Start with small distances and build up from there.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,510
    I'm also an ex-serviceman, likewise I took up (rediscovered) cycling to improve my mental and physical fitness.
    1. Well done.
    2. 10 miles per ride max until you're ready for further.
    3. as pblakeney suggests regarding gearing.
    4. enjoy.
  • N0bodyOfTheGoat
    N0bodyOfTheGoat Posts: 5,834
    edited February 2021
    Writing from personal experience, when starting to cycle for fitness, it's very easy to be guilty of riding too frequently involving hard efforts. You can end up "overtraining" and have sore legs that feel very weak when you get on the bike.

It's certainly possible to ride 5+ days a week, but the key is making a vast majority of those days keeping you in your easy power/heart zones.