Looking at the 2021 Stumpjumper alloy. Yes? No? Upgrade to a higher spec?

I'll try to keep this brief but offer a little background so you know what I'm looking for in a bike.

I'm relatively new to the sport and currently riding a Trek 4600 hardtail that was fine for determining whether this new "hobby" would stick, but now I need a real full suspension bike. I'm someone who never thought I'd spend even $1,000 on a bike, but am really enjoying myself and ready to commit to some better equipment. Would love to keep under the $3000 price point, and the new 2021 Stumpjumper Alloy stands out as a good option at $2200. But then... I really don't know what I'm talking about.

I'm primarily a trail rider. I wouldn't say all cross-country but you won't find me flying through the air more than 3 feet off the ground or doing extreme downhills. Drops are fun... but landings can be harsh on my hardtail and old body which have led to a recurring foot/ankle injury that kind of sucks. Rear suspension seems like a necessity at this point.

I've read all the "top 10 under 3k" lists etc and don't really know what to trust. Lots of brands I've never even heard of. And absolutely any bike will of course have varying opinions. The new Stumpjumper stands out as a good bike for me from a reliable brand, but I have some questions. I won't list out all the specs, but here are the two models I am currently comparing:

2021 Stumpjumper Alloy $2200
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/stumpjumper-alloy/p/175253?color=281624-175253&searchText=93321-7001

2021 Stumpjumper Comp Alloy $3200
https://www.specialized.com/us/en/stumpjumper-alloy/p/175253?color=281624-175253&searchText=93321-7001