Replacing SRAM red cassette to Force/Rival 11-32

I'm a complete newbie to road cycling and loving my new (second hand) Cube. My dad is doing similar and bought a second hand Felt F3 with SRAM red groupset, which he's struggling with uphills. I've been on it and the lowest gear on his 28 is his much harder than my 11-32 Ultegra.

What are his options? Obviously fitness plays a part, but he's currently not using his carbon and has reverted to a crappy hybrid because he's finding the hills so difficult. Sad and not nice to see his bike sitting there unused. I'm thinking changing the cassette is the most cost effective option and just wanted to see if this is the most sensible option!

If it is, is it possible to see from the photos whether changing to a 11-32 Force/Rival or even moving to a 105 cassette? The SRAM red's are ridiculously pricey. Any advice would be super! Thanks a lot

Comments

• rafletcher
    rafletcher Posts: 1,235
    You can fit any Shimano or SRAM cassette as the splines are the same. The maximum rear cog size will be determined by the rear mechs maximum tooth number, and also it’s “capacity” - the difference in teeth between front chain rings added to the difference in teeth between the smallest and largest cassette cogs. If you fit a cassette with a larger big cog, then that number increases. You can find rear mech max cog size and capacity online, or others here will know.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,434
    what chainrings? if they are 53/39 then moving to a compact with 50/34 would be another way to get the same lowest gearing as going from 28 to 32 on the rear, while avoiding bigger steps between gears

my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    The rear mech looks to be a short cage so you would need to change it for Sram medium cage for the 32 cassette.
    As mentioned above a 50/34 chain set would give easier gearing than the one fitted if it is a 52 or 53/39
  • diamonddog