How to get rid of MucOff C3 lubricant PLEASE

I've been using Muc-Off C3 ceramic lube for about 3 years (both wet and dry versions according to season). It seems OK as a lube but seems to build up. Obviously last year I didn't do so much mileage but I'm hoping to do more as this spring kicks in. So I just started to service my bikes to try and get moving. The Muc-Off C3 has set like glue on the chains, derailleurs and other bits I used it on. The chains are so stiff they will hardly bend. The bearings in the derailleurs are so stiff I can hardly turn them. To be precise, when I back pedal the whole derailleur winds up backwards because the chain is so stiff. I cant change gear because its too stiff. So I've taken it to bits and started to try to clean the Muc-Off off. Its set as hard as a rubber glue. I've tried every solvent I can think of, started with usual degreasers obviously including Muc-Offs own rubbish cleaner then went to Gunk, WD40, white spirit, paraffin, hot water with detergent, vinegar and meths. I've got the chain in a bath of petrol now to leave it overnight and see what happens. Does anyone please have any idea before I throw two perfectly good chains away (a few hundred miles each and there is no stretch) and have to replace other parts of my transmission. Before anyone asks NO I do not recommend Muc-Off it is simply the worst product I have used on any bike in 55 years (I started riding when I was 10)

Comments

• Lay a few sheets of kitchen paper on an induction hob and coil the chain onto it. This should melt the old off but might not actually work. Let us know if it does.
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852