Can I save my old steel frame?

Bicelli88
Bicelli88 Posts: 16
edited January 2021 in Workshop
Hello everyone,

I have this frame from a vintage roadbike. It looks like it didn't suffer from major impact and it's not bent. However I wonder if I can remove the rust and whether it is still safe to use and build a bike with it.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,591
    edited January 2021
    1st point - I'm no expert so you can probably ignore point 2. 😉
    2nd point - Surface rust which can be removed with a wire brush should be okay. Rust which has started to reduce material thickness will be a concern though.

Edit - Internal rusting needs to be checked too.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Yeo - just take to your nearest paint shop/ metal fabricator and get them to sand blast it to remove surface rust and old paint. If it survives that then you're good to go. A nice red powder coat and job is jobbed
  • MattFalle
    MattFalle Posts: 11,644
    edited January 2021
    fill it with waxoil or however you spell it at the same time to protect it from the inside

#internal
    The camera down the willy isn't anything like as bad as it sounds.
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    I'd see if you can blast to bare metal, so you can be sure it's not full of holes.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/
    Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143173475@N05/
  • david37
    david37 Posts: 1,313
    edited January 2021