How much to spend on a gravel bike, and what do buy?

Hi, I'm new to the forum and not quite sure whether this is the right one for the question.

So, I have yet another "what bike to buy" question. This is easier to answer if you have a fixed budget, but I don't really have a specific limit and don't know how much is sensible to spend.

Bike type

This is my first real sports bike, until now I've been riding various city/trekking bikes (current one is a Rabeneick TS5 Alfine-8 2017 (sorry, no English spec sheet online)) since elementary school, so I'm not really a cycling beginner but a sportive-cycling beginner. As I'd like to avoid the N+1 trap and end up with 10 different bikes, I'd like one that does everything a little. Here in Germany, we don't really have gravel roads as in the US, but we do have a large network of forest ways, for which a MTB would be overkill but which are too bumpy/have too loose ground for a "real" road bike, especially on slopes (we have extensive hilly areas). Since car traffic takes the fun out of riding on roads, I suppose a gravel bike would give me the most options for (long) tours.

How I will use the bike