Time pedals

Thinking of making the switch.

Who uses/has used them?
seanoconn - gruagach craic!

Comments

• Been using Xpro 10s for ~18 months, no complaints once I got the cleat position sorted, besides the plastic cleats wear an awful lot quicker than the metal cleats for my old ATAC pedals.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • johngti
    johngti Posts: 2,508
    I use them. Big fan - easy to clip in, nice amount of float but a bit weird compared to look (which I’ve also tried). They kind of centre your foot on the pedal nicely so as above, get the cleat in the right place to get the most from them.
  • pinno
    pinno Posts: 51,196
    I like the idea of a bigger platform.
    I have Look and it seems to centre pressure on one part of the foot too much. Can't blame the shoes - Sidi Genius 5's. which are stiff as you like.
    I have been riding Look pedals since 1993!
  • Been using Time for donkey's years, latterly some expresso 6s and 8s. They're really good pedals - lightweight, easy to engage and a big platform as you say. But I do wonder whether the cure for your problem might be more likely to be found from, say, custom orthotics rather than a change in pedalling system?
  • pinno
    Possibly.

But going back years to when I had the Christophe toe clips and straps and platform pedals, a lot more miles being covered and shoes that were not nearly as stiff as we have now, I do not remember this problem.

I have a high inner arch and use Specialized inserts - they help, especially on long rides but do not do much to alleviate that pressure spot.
  • I have used Time for 15 years, most models. They are good pedals and the larger platform and shape does seem to evenly spread pressure across the foot.

A couple of things from my experience. The cleats wear quickly and unlike other pedals/cleat combos once worn they will start to slip and disengage from the pedal.