Upgrading Hubs Help/Advice

Hey all,

Looking for some advice on upgrading my hubs, Please excuse my ignorance as I’m fairly new to the ins and outs of parts

I currently have a set of spank oozy hubs and have a loud clunking noise whenever I pedal, from what I’ve read I should be getting some hubs with a high engagement number

I started looking at supadrives but it left me wondering if they are really what I need (would they be too much etc)

Can anyone recommend me a good set of hubs that will have a high engagement number and still roll quite quickly so as to stop the irritating clunk I am get currently

If it’s worth anything, I have an XD driver on my current set

Comments

• reaperactual
    reaperactual Posts: 1,185
    edited December 2020
    Spank 345 Trail hubs have a 3 three pawl, 30t radial drive system giving 18° of engagement which is pretty poor.

Quicker engagement is not the be all and end all of what makes a good hub. High engagement is good for general fast drive pick up and great in certain circumstances like half pedals to climb a rock garden for example.

Usually with higher engagement there is a trade off between durability as in more teeth but smaller and finer contact points with Pawls and drive ring teeth.

Hope Pro 4 hubs have a 4 Pawl, 44t drive ring giving 8.2° of engagement which will be noticable, not outstanding but still quite robust.

You could look at DT Swiss 370 hubs with the Star Ratchets of which the 54t version will give you 6° of engagement using a different axial drive system.

The DT Swiss are more expensive but have amongst the best engagement figures before the likes of Hydra i9's at 1° which get very expensive.

Could the clunking when pedalling possibly be an issue rather than just poor engagement of your Spank hub?

• Thankyou for your reply @reaperactual

Some interesting points you’ve made so something for me to chew on certainly