Cassette and chainring question?

Hi i'm new to mountain biking but recently purchased a bike which is great but there has been issues with the rear cassette and the chain jumping under strain on certain cogs?
I took it to a local bike shop who inspected it and said they look fine they just need a clean so stopped at another bike shop who told me the cassette and the front chainring are both knackered.
I have included a few photos and would be very grateful for any advice and opinions

Thanks.

Comments

• I would give the cassette and chain ring a good clean also the chain,if you can remove them and let them soak in some degreaser for a few hours,use a brush to get the oil and grime off then reinstall,if the problem is still there then new parts needed.
  • reaperactual
    reaperactual Posts: 1,185
    edited October 2020
    Hard to tell with the pictures but cassette teeth profile looks shallow and undefined in the big cog and other most used gears.

The chainring doesn't look as bad but the teeth profile looks to be a little 'shark fin' shaped so not great.

Would recommend replacing cassette, chain and chainring too. Leaving the current chainring on could wear down a new chain and in turn a new cassette prematurely so not worth it for the sake of £20ish for a new one.

I assume the bike is second hand so you don't know how many previous chains the chainring has been used with it, if any.

Generally if you buy a second hand bike you should expect to have to replace these drivetrain components anyway unless you know for sure the parts are new or have been replaced recently by the previous owner before being sold.
  • steve_sordy
    steve_sordy Posts: 2,443
    The chainring is definitely worn, you can see the sharkfin appearance in your final photo.
    The cassette is harder to tell (photos not too clear), but the gaps between the teeth are elongated - some gears rather a lot.