Thule 9503

Hi guys. I’m new to this and not sure if this is the right place to post.
Anyway, I brought a 2nd hand Thule 9503 bike rack and have tried fitting it to my tow bar but once fitted it tends to ‘swing’ from side to side. I’ve done the bolt up tightly and I’ve taken it to Halfords but they was a baffled as I am. Any suggestions would be great. TIA

Comments

• JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Make sure you take the weight off the rack (i.e. hold it up) as you tighten the clamp on the towball.
    Did you get the spanner with the rack for tightening the clamp bolt?
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • I’ll give that a try thanks. I didn’t get the proper spanner but I’ve got a spanner to tighten it. I’m going out to try it now. Thank you
  • JBA said:

Make sure you take the weight off the rack (i.e. hold it up) as you tighten the clamp on the towball.
    Did you get the spanner with the rack for tightening the clamp bolt?

I’ve tried that but Unfortunately it didn’t work
  • exlaser
    exlaser Posts: 264
    Check inside the locking mechanism that the curved plate inside is still in place and connected to the locking bolt. Sorry that all I can think of. I own this model of bike rack and mine locks rock solid .
    Van Nicholas Ventus
    Rose Xeon RS
  • exlaser said:

Check inside the locking mechanism that the curved plate inside is still in place and connected to the locking bolt. Sorry that all I can think of. I own this model of bike rack and mine locks rock solid .

I’ll have a look tomorrow. Thanks for the repky
  • exlaser said:

It all looks ok to me. The bolt is tightening the plate which is attached to the large spring.

I’ve attached some photos. Would you be able to confirm it looks like the inside of your rack please. Many thanks

• exlaser